Texas State University Logo

Our Programs

Distance Education Courses

Online Resources

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Award for Excellence in Online Teaching

Applications are currently being accepted for the Fall 2014, Spring 2015, or Summer 2015 semester.

Introduction to Award

The Office of Distance and Extended Learning in the Division of Academic Affairs is pleased to announce the annual Award for Excellence in Online Teaching.

The award recipient will receive $2500, and up to two runners-up will each receive $1250 at a recognition reception. All recipients will be asked to present their work to the campus community.

The awardees may be asked to assume a leadership role in promoting online instruction at Texas State and serve on the award selection committee.

Purpose of Award

The award will recognize and reward superior online teaching, provide models of excellence for fellow faculty, and encourage all faculty to continue to improve and advance their online teaching pedagogy.


To nominate yourself for the award, follow the submission directions below to complete a nomination form and documentation for one online course you taught or are teaching in Fall 2014, Spring 2015, or Summer 2015. It is recommended that you review the nomination form and documentation requirements well in advance of submission.

The deadline for submission of this form is October 23, 2015. This deadline will not be extended.

Note: You will be required to provide access to a course site that allows judges to assess the quality and frequency of your interaction with students.

Submission Directions

  1. Download and add comments to the Quality of Course Design rubric. Your comments should summarize how your course addresses each point in the rubric. The rubric along with your comments will be used to judge your submission.
  2. Prepare a Student Feedback on Course Effectiveness Report. Refer to these guidelines for preparing this document.
  3. Complete the nomination form, and attach the supporting documentation described above.
    • Nomination forms that do not include the required documentation (Quality Of Course Design rubric and Student Feedback on Course Effectiveness Report) will not be considered. If you have any questions regarding the preparation of the documentation, please contact the Office of Distance and Extended Learning.
  4. In your course site, select Add Participants in Site Info and enter evaluator as the username. Assign evaluator the Instructor role so that judges who log in with this username can examine all aspects of your course.


  • Accept nomination form and documentation: March 13, 2015 – October 23, 2015
  • Judge entries: October 24, 2015 – November 2015
  • Announce award recipients: January 2016

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to receive an award, courses must

  • be developed and taught by faculty who teach a minimum of half time and/or have a continuing appointment;
  • be 85% or more online; and
  • have been taught online in Fall 2014, Spring 2015, or Summer 2015.

Award Criteria

The award will be based exclusively on work conducted while serving a teaching appointment at Texas State University. The criteria for the award include

  • quality of the online course design,
  • instructional and technology innovation, and
  • student feedback on course effectiveness.


Award Selection Committee

The Distance and Extended Learning Steering Committee will appoint a selection committee. The committee will be comprised of the following:

  • Committee chair
  • Three faculty with demonstrated online teaching experience (may be filled using previous award recipients, and the faculty representatives must represent different departments)
  • One representative from Instructional Design Support
  • One representative from the Office of Distance and Extended Learning

Previous Winners

A previous recipient (whether winner or runner-up) of the Award for Excellence in Online Teaching:

  • may receive award more than once, but not more than once every three years; and
  • cannot recieve award for the same course more than once (e.g. if faculty was recipent of award for work done on TXST 101, he/she may not win subsequent award for TXST 101 but must nominate a different course).

View previous winners: 

2013 Award for Excellence in Online Teaching recipients

2014 Award for Excellence in Online Teaching recipients